Sponsor: GEO Places

Chittagong (চট্টগ্রাম) Summary


Chittagong District

Being surrounded by rivers, sea and hills, Chittagong District is located at south-eastern part of Bangladesh. Due to the natural harbor, Chittagong had been an lucrative location for trading, drawing Arab businessmen as early as 9th century CE. In 1552, historian D. Baros described Chittagong as the most worthiest and richest place of Bengal because of harbor facility. The Arakan kings ruled this area between 16th and 17th centuries, but after that, the Mughal army of Islam Khan conquered the region, Chittagong. During the seventeenth century, the zone also attacked by a lot of Portuguese pirates. Chittagong had been established as a district by the Mughals in 1666. Over time, the Chittagong Hill Tracts and the Cox’s Bazar were separated from Chittagong.






Division: Chittagong Division
Area: 5,283 km2
Location: 22.3375° North 91.8389° East
Border: Feni District & Tripura (north), Cox’s Bazar (south), Bandarban, Rangamati & Khagrachari (east), and Noakhali & Bay of Bengal (west).
Major Rivers: Kornofuli(কর্ণফুলী), Halda(হালদা), Shangu(সাঙ্গু)

Total Population: about 7 million
Male Population: 53%
Female Population: 47%
Population Density: 1,220 /km2
Literacy rate: 54% (according to Education Survey, 2001)

Public universities: 2
Primary Schools: 1,634
Colleges: 123
Madrasas: 321
Medical College: 2

Total Upazilas: 14
Total Unions: 195
Total villages: 1,329
Total Police Stations: 15
Total Mouzas: 1,076
Important Institutions: Chittagong University, BMA, Marine Academy, Chittagong Club, BTV (chittagong center)

© 1997-2021 Chittagong. All rights reserved.
Powered by Chittagong.com